Skip to main content

2019 dsport Awards

Each year we have the pleasure of awarding our trophies in recognition of our members performances during the year the preceeding year.  This year due to Covid-19 we thought we would have to "present" the trophies online, but by delaying our AGM we were able to present these to most recipients in person.

Congratulations to all of our Award recipients

Wheelchair Rugby Cup - Chris Barry

This cup is awarded to the person who plays or helps at wheelchair rugby.  This person goes that extra bit further for themselves and the team outside of normal training etc, but usually goes unrecognised.        

Athletic Cup - Corran Hanning

For outstanding achievements in Athletic events.  Corran's achievements were:

  • NZ Secondary School Athletics Championships.  2 Golds + 1 Silver + 3 NZSSA records + 3 National U17 F12 Para Athletics Records +1 National U20 F12 Para Athletics record
  • North Island Secondary Schools Athletics.  3 Golds + 3 NI records.
  • Wellington Sportsperson of the Year – Disabled Sportsperson Finalist
  • Wellington College Sport Sportsperson of the Year – Disabled Athlete

Caltex Novice Trophy - Kate Olver 

Awarded to athlete from any sporting code. Kate's year included Silver and Bronze at the 2019 NZCAF National Schools Aerobics & Hip Hop Championships in Queenstown. 

Carlyle Trophy - Tina Kerr

Most input to the Association from non-committee member for coaching, mentoring and support. Tina is a Boccia ramp assistant for her son Jeffrey.

Boccia Cup - Hyran Daymond

Awarded for outstanding achievements in Boccia. This year Hyran won Gold in BC3 Pairs, and Bronze in BC3 National Championships. Hyran is ranked # 3 in BC3 in NZ.

Swimming Cup - Erin Knox

Awarded for outstanding achievements in Swimming.  Erin's achievements included 

  • AIMS Games – 3 Golds + 3 Para records.
  • Wellington Swimming Disabled Athlete of the Year
  • Qualified for Swimming NZ Open Championships

President’s Trophy - Denise Harrison

The President names the recipient for this award each year. Denise has provided support for Boccia and is a member of dsport committee.

Parafed Wellington Trophy - Kate Horan

For outstanding sporting achievement and representing NZ internationally from any sporting code within our Association. Kate won Bronze at the 2019 UCI World Para Cycling Track Championships in Apeldoorn, Netherlands.