Skip to main content

2022 dsport Award Recipients

2022 dsport Award recipients

Congratulations to our 2022 dsport Trophy recipients.

We recognise the last few years have been a bit tough for our athletes competing in sport, but 2022 saw a return to competition and our athletes succeed.

The 2022 recipents are:

Parafed Wellington Wheelchair Rugby Cup      

Most dedicated rugby player This cup is awarded to the person who plays or helps at wheelchair rugby.  This person goes that extra bit further for themselves and the team outside of normal training etc, but usually goes unrecognised.

Johan Gouws


Parafed Wellington Athletic Cup

For outstanding achievements in Athletic events

Corran Hanning

1st Mens Discus Para Open and

1st Mens Shot Put Para Open at National Championships.

1st Boys Discus Multi Class Para Senior and

1st  Boys Shot Put Multi Class Para Senior at NZ Secondary Schools Athletics Association Championships.

New NZSSAA Para Shot Put record.

Represented Wellington College for the McEvedy Shield and was Team Captain

Caltex Novice Trophy

Awarded to athlete from any sporting code

Francis Schilder

Wheelchair Rugby

Carlyle Trophy    

Most input to the Association from non-committee member for coaching, mentoring and support.

Richard Galloway

Powerchair football coordinator and coach.

Parafed Wellington Boccia Cup

Awarded for outstanding achievements in Boccia

Hyran Daymond

Silver in BC3 Pairs with Greig Jackson (Manawatu) and

Bronze in BC3 Individual at National Championships

Ranked # 2 in BC3 in NZ

Parafed Wellington Swimming Cup

Awarded for outstanding achievements in Swimming

Erin Knox

Para sportsperson at the College Sport Wellington Sports Person of the Year Awards.

Hutt Disabled Sportsperson of the Year award.

Heretaunga College Mary Fisher Cup for swimming.

WPPDA President’s Trophy

The Chairman of Parafed Wellington names the recipient for this award each year


Andy Henderson

Boccia dsport team manager

Boccia NZ President

Boccia national and international referee

Parafed Wellington Trophy


For outstanding sporting achievement and representing NZ internationally from any sporting code within our Association

Karl Hobman

1st Para Mixed V6 500,

2nd Para Mixed V12 500,

3rd  Para Mixed V6 1000,

3rd Para Mixed V6 500,

5th Para Men (VL3) V1 500 and

6th Para Men (VL3) V1 250

at the 2022 IVF Va’a World Sprint Championships, England.